Three years ago, my brother started blogging.  And he asked me several times, “When are you going to start blogging too?”  I usually answered “can’t make the time” or “can’t be bothered,” but in the back of my mind, something was saying, when I can do it my way.  “My way,” of course, was something superior and classy and customized with all sorts of special features I would implement by myself.  Not Just Another WordPress Weblog.

Plans that either come to naught, or half a page of scribbled lines.

I’m starting to understand what everybody keeps telling me. Worse is better. The perfect is the enemy of the good. Always be shipping. Get up, get up, do something.

If you set yourself an impossible task, you will never have to be judged. I’m ready to just swallow it.  This isn’t going to be the Best Blog Ever. I’m not going to sit down for a dozen evenings coding homegrown solutions for hours on end. My life doesn’t work that way anymore. I’m not going to produce influential manifestos that inspire quotations and citations and debates.  I’ve never been that strong a writer or thinker, even if I occasionally imagined I was.

But I do like writing about what’s on my mind, I no longer have much interest in forums, I hate the ephemerality of facebook and the brevity of twitter. So here I go. Writing pretty much for myself, with no particular focus, but I have to put it somewhere so it stops keeping me up at night.  Just Another WordPress Weblog.   I’m finally okay with that.

